Posted by: Tanmoy Chakrabarti | October 31, 2013

Kota Kinabalu

Last week, I was at Kota Kinabalu for 5 days to attend a work conference. I am not sure how many of my readers have been to Kota Kinabalu (or commonly KK), but for the interested ones it is the capital of the state of Sabah, in East Malaysia. It takes around 2.5 hours by air to reach KK from Kuala Lumpur.

KK is apparently a well-known tourist destination in the region and is known for its national park, mountain and rain forests.

My conference schedule was pretty intense and I could not find any time to do sightseeing but we were hosted at a good resort.  I have never been to a resort and I was quite awe-struck by the amount of facilities that are in the resort where I stayed. There were at least three hotels, a golf course, numerous restaurants, swimming pool, spa, shops etc. It was quite good actually. Notwithstanding, the work commitments I must say we were quite well-kept and well-fed. The region is known for its sea-food so there were plenty of that.

While the work conference was held there for cost purposes (as most people attending was form neighbouring countries in Asia-Pacific), for me from the bottom of the world it was quite a journey. The outward journey to KK was not that eventful (I reached around 2 am in the morning of the day of the conference), but the return journey was. Due to sudden bad weather at KK my flight from KK to KL was delayed, which meant I was going to miss my flight from KL to Sydney and then Sydney to Auckland! Thankfully, there were at least 10 people on the KK flight who wanted to catch the Sydney flight and hence they kept the Sydney flight waiting for an hour or so. It was a relief for me.

I have had previous experience of train cancellation and bad scheduling of flights and it can be quite stressful.

I did manage to take some photos of my trip and here are some of those.

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

1380497_10151972663980763_1915430780_n

Leave a Reply

Categories

