Posted by: Tanmoy Chakrabarti | August 14, 2012

on Independence Day eve..

Yes, I felt good that India earned 5 individual medals at the Olympics.

The other day when a couple of my colleagues made fun of India being a country of 1.3 billion people, yet not having anything worthwhile to show-off either at the Olympics or anywhere else, I felt sad though. I felt sadder because I had nothing to say in India’s defence.

It is shameful indeed. True, I could have shamed other countries such as how Chinese administrators are accused of torturing children while they aim for Olympic glory, or how American government does not financially support sportsmen who would like to excel but then the fact in relation to India would not change by saying all these.

Even if I highlight the social flaws in developed countries which there are many, things would not change. The developed world sees everything wrong about our society, how we bring up our children, our cinema, and our recent culture. Some of these things are huge over-reaction coming from age-old hatred but some of the recent happenings are driven by our lack of development. While the entire world is changing towards the worse but then the developing world does look uglier presently.

Most of my Nationalistic acquaintances on social networking sites would say: “to hell with what others think. We are the way we are and West is scared of us.” I don’t like taking that stance either. Belittling someone else does not make us look good.

In an attempt to try and find at least some positives to talk about on the eve of India’s Independence Day, I tried scouting for news on some of the popular news website. What I found was news about protestors on the streets of Delhi. I could read about some allegedly corrupt people, suddenly all together joining hands to fight corruption when they themselves were previously touted as corrupt. All this baffled me. What a waste of money and resources these protests are? What baffles me more was there is a huge amount of support for these people on the social networking sites. It is like, either you support these people or you are corrupt.

I could not really find anything worthwhile to write about positives.

My colleagues were commenting in jest. I probably should take their comments in that spirit and give them a sheepish grin. On the eve of India’s Independence Day, I just wish at least myself and my family can be a better representative of my country. To be recognised as a good Indian outside of India is not at all easy but we have to do the hard work. Thankfully, we do know some people who take more of a human approach to things. Have to know more such people.

I would be glad if anyone can suggest me ten most recent endearing moments/people in Indian history. I love my country, it is home where I will go back.

Responses

  1. Dear Tanmoyda,

    I sense your terrible sadness in this post. I can’t make you feel better regarding the present nature of things, but here are some interesting people from history-

    1. Sushruta in the field of surgery.

    2. Aryabhatta in the fields of astronomy and mathematics.

    3. Valmiki (author of Ramayana)

    4. Ved Vyasa (author of Mahabharata)

    4. Adi Sanakara (author of poems Lalitha Sahasranama)

    5. Jayadeva (author of Gita Govinda,1200 AD)

    6. Krishnadevaraya (sixteenth century), king of the Vijayanagara empire and poet.

    7. Chandragupta Maurya (4th century BC) – the founder of the Maurya Empire – the first unifier of India as well as its first genuine emperor.

    8. Think of Buddha, Mahavira and Vivekananda and Sri Ramakrishna.

    9. Tansen, Thyagaraja and Swami Haridas.

    10. You can think of Jamini Roy, one of the greatest painters of the 20th century.

    Sayan Datta

  2. Dear Sayan – thank you for your comment. I was trying to think post Independence.

    Regards
    Tanmoyda


Leave a Reply

Categories

