Posted by: Tanmoy Chakrabarti | January 1, 2011

2011

As we step into the New Year, I am left wondering what were the achievements in the first decade of the new millennium. I am sure there would be some but I could not find any which is as important as discovery of a new life saving drug, man landing on a new planet or the likes. The first decade of the new millennium has been marred by terror attacks, financial crisis and natural disasters. In some ways, enough warnings have been sounded to the human race that if don’t value people or environment the reactions can be very strong and costly. Whilst these inflict fear but there is also the aspect where I am sure these motivate some too. I pray and hope including myself and my families there are more motivated people who can contribute in their own small way to retain the beautiful earth.

One of the major stories that intrigued me last year was the rescue of the trapped Chilean miners. I am sure most of us have read the story.

And I am probably too late to make my opinion public. However, what made me awestruck was the fact, here is a country that is not so rich, is corrupt, perhaps has more political problems that my country has, does not really have good relations with his neighbors but skilled enough and possess enough will power to save its people. I am sure that it was do-able and that is why it was achieved but like I said, I was intrigued by the willpower. These incidents amidst a variety of genocide, injustice and corruption make me hopeful and give me courage.
With these in mind I hope that 2011 is a better year for the entire world. Not sure how many of us read about people making differences and feel a sense of courage but if you are interested, you can read about some unique individuals here.

I hope the year rewards us for all our hard work and brings us more happiness.
Personally, I have been preoccupied with enjoyment last few months and have neglected the blog but I am certain I will do better.

Leave a Reply

Categories

