Posted by: Tanmoy Chakrabarti | January 19, 2010

Small Gift

It is such a coincidence that I was remembering my Tongariro trip in my last post. An integral part of the trip was our train journey back to Auckland. I wrote about the splendid train journey here.

We were very impressed with the train ride and I wrote a small note to the company that manages the railway with a few pictures of ours. Today after nearly a year we got a gift pack containing a copy of the company’s travel magazine that has our small note and a picture of my wife. We also got a gift voucher to ride one of the three trains and some promotional materials.

The gift pack made us happy. Not only because they published my small note but for the first time I got a monetary reward (of $50) for a 200 word writing. Further, this was the first time I was published outside India.

Here are two pictures from our Tongariro trip last year.

Crater Lake

Mount Doom (LOTR) and the fractured volcanic cone in front is Red Crater. Mt. Tongariro is to the right

Indeed it was special.

Responses

  1. Congratulations, Tanmoy. I am indeed happy for you. That was really nice of the railway company.

  2. Thank you Suvro da.

  3. That is great, Tanmoy! You seem to live in another planet.

  4. WOW! You met a celebrity! Mount doom!! ๐Ÿ™‚ The pictures are wonderful, in fact all the pictures you put up are wonderful and it makes me long to see NZ. On an another note, it was of nice of you to write to the railway company in the first place and nice of them to reply in such a manner! Happy new year ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I have a very similar photo on my desk at work! That’s a spectacular landscape. A note on your caption, though … the fractured volcanic cone in front is Red Crater. Mt. Tongariro would be to the right of your frame.

  6. Amazing! Such a lovely sight. Blue, green and greyish brown all in one landscape.


Leave a Reply

Categories

