Posted by: Tanmoy Chakrabarti | April 8, 2009

Blank Noise

I think this link deserves attention – Blank Noise Project. I am quoting what the organisation says about itself.

We are a volunteer led and run collective. Blank Noise events and public interventions have taken place in Lucknow, Patna, Delhi, Hyderabad, Chennai, Bangalore, Mumbai, Kolkata, Jaipur. You too can be a a Blank Noise Volunteer if you have time, enthusiasm, (loads of it) and commitment. Anyone with any kind of skill set is welcome- every kind of special skill makes a difference in how we function. write in subject titled I VOLUNTEER to blurtblanknoise at gmail dot com

Commendable.

Thanks to Amit Varma’s blog, I came to know about this link.

Eve-teasing is a serious problem in India and for some reasons it always looked like nothing can be done with this. This trait among few Indians have earned the country bad reputations and have made many well known places of interests unsafe. Further this has lead to much more dangerous incidents. If something is done to prevent this and the process is successful, I am sure most of us would be happy.

I cannot join the program actively because I am outside India but some of the readers can join.

Responses

  1. Thank you for this post, Tanmoy. I am a father with a growing daughter, so I worry a great deal. I hope a lot of people, women in particular, get involved in this movement. I’d like to see an India which is much nicer to women both in public and in private.


Leave a Reply

Categories

