Posted by: Tanmoy Chakrabarti | March 31, 2009

Bit of trivia

Thanks to Sidharth Monga of Cricinfo, here is an interesting bit of sporting history which establishes another faint relationship between Kolkata and Auckland.

This is about Eden Park in Auckland and Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Monga writes and I quote below:

An interesting ground, Eden Park is. Shaped like a 20-paise coin. Could lose its name to sponsors who help in its renovation for the rugby World Cup in 2011. Named after the same family as Eden Gardens in Kolkata is – that of Lord Auckland, Governor General of India in the late 1830s and early 1840s. Auckland the city was founded by Lord Auckland’s favourite, Captain William Hobson, the first Governor of New Zealand, who named it after his patron. Lord Auckland’s sister Emily, who carried the family name, Eden, developed Eden Gardens in Calcutta, and Eden Park and Mt Eden in Auckland honour the same family.

There is also an Auckland Street in Calcutta. But now Sahid Khudiram Bose Road is to Auckland Street what Kolkata is to Calcutta.

I found this bit of knowledge refreshing.

—-
PS: I apologise for the fact that my activities on the net has come down in recent times. I am sure that shall pick up after my travel during Easter break. Currently, I am unusually occupied. I am doing a strenuous professional course and for that every week I have to take an online examination (with a pass mark of 80 percent). This is taking a lot of time during my weekends and evenings. I hope you excuse me for this since I am taking such exams after nearly 9 years and trust me it is not easy.

Responses

  1. Nice little bit of history, Tanmoy, thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

